Fun Writing & Beating Writer’s Block

100_5990

So, I’m sitting at the park as I often do on the weekend, my mind fuzzy and my focus like the last bit of a candle’s flame sputtering in its own wax. I open my laptop and stare at the blank new document, but instead I grab the book I brought for times such as these.

When my mind glazes over, I do what I call Fun Writing, that is, creation without a goal. I harbor no intent to “do” anything with the writing such as turn it into or a blog post, short story, or novel; however, there are times when gems float to the surface of otherwise unpalatable prose.

This is how it works: I read a favorite author, and after a chapter or two, I set out to create something, anything in that author’s particular style. While typing the author’s words, I pay close attention to the length of the author’s sentences, the phrasing, and the flavor of the yarn.

Why, you ask? Study. By imitating a favorite writer, I gain a sense of how they use language, at what point they show versus tell, and how they accomplish pulling emotion from the reader.

I first did this many years ago while a reporter at a newspaper. Over the course of a month, I went into Dickens Mode: I read Tale of Two Cities followed immediately by Great Expectations. I noticed my sentences lengthened, the aura of what I wrote took on a dark and foreboding tone. (The sports editor was not amused when my weekly article began, “It was the best of games, it was the worst of games . . . .”).

I then read several Edgar Allen Poe stories and did same. At that point I coined the name Fun Writing and occasionally partake to this very day (I’m currently reading The Hobbit).

I learned something very valuable during this exercise: mimicking another writer is a great way to beat the dreaded Writer’s Block. After having exhausted every trick to add to a blank page, and getting no where, typing another writer’s words inevitably leads me into my own creation. If I am in a quandary about a piece of dialogue, I’ll concentrate on a special interaction between two characters, or if my problem is description I’ll find a favorite section where I can “see” a particular scene. See more about Defeating Writer’s Block here.

You will probably not match the favorite author you choose (they are in all likelihood a best-selling author or prose master), but you may uncover a gem from the stony writing associated with first drafts. The gem may even be a clever turn-of-phrase suitable for a current work in progress.

I have done the Fun Writing with several different writers: John Jakes, Flannery O’Connor, Mark Twain, Jim Butcher and a host of others.

A side note: there is a website entitled, I Write Like, which uses a few paragraphs of your writing to determine who you write like among famous authors. It’s fun, but don’t put too much emphasis on it. I posted six different writing examples and it gave me four different writers (Poe was one of them, oddly enough).

I challenge you to take a few minutes and do some Fun Writing; you never know what you might find during this exercise.

Comment and let the Knights of Writ followers know how this mini-challenge helped you be a better writer.

See you on the next page,

Rick

Join the growing family. Select the “Follow” button in the lower right-hand corner, add your email address, and receive weekly Fiction Musings from Knights of Writ.

Comments are always welcome and appreciated, and if so inclined, Share this post with other writers.

Author: Rick "C" Langford

Writer, blogger, Business Owner, dreamer, and fantasy lover

Leave a Reply

