I woke up early this morning (5:15am) as I always do–my eyes on writing. As mentioned last week, the first two hours before the darkness creeps to dawn are often the best of my day. forest path

Today is Saturday! I’m off from the bill-paying job that, at times, sucks dry my creative energy.

Today is mine. Being only the 3rd day of the new year, I reflect on the past twelve months. I realize how grateful I am: I am married to a wonderful woman, reared two passionate children, and I write.

I write. I am grateful for that, to have a passion–most people do not. Many people slog day after day, finding what pleasure they can in the everyday sameness. You are a writer. Be grateful for the path chosen; unlike many, you can play, you can create people and worlds and situations that very well may entice and entertain others. First, however, you must please yourself.

Oh, but somebody did not like the last writing you shared? Perhaps a loved one or rejection from somebody “in the know” like an editor or teacher. It hurt. Okay, childbirth hurts too, but the joy that follows makes the pain of the actual event moot in a very short time.

To be a writer is to write, and by and large, the desire to create trumps all else. Rejoice that you can, and though millions wish they could, you are unique and the world is waiting to hear your specific and genuine voice. Do not let them down.


Today’s Quote:

“There are many more people who do not write yet feel perfectly at ease sniping at those who do. When such a snipe comes your way, remind yourself that you are the one putting yourself on the line, opening a vein, walking the tightrope, singing a solo under hot lights. You are part of a courageous bunch who are all about doing.” — James Scott Bell

 

