Reflection and Goals

journeyAmidst the whirlwind that is the holiday season, take a moment to reflect on your writing accomplishments during 2014. More than 2013, or did you get off track? Regardless, now is the time to plan for 2015.

 For me, this past year involved a change, a turning-the-corner, if you will. I completed my fantasy novel, The Returning, started this blog to help other aspiring writers, finished an online writing course through Iowa University, and participated in NANOWRIMO, among others. All proved important steps, but none of them would have materialized without the conscious thought that it was time to wrestle the doubts and fears, time to bind the negative thoughts, time to put my writing out into the world.

All writers battle these foes of their imagination. (Today’s links include brave writing souls from the Iowa University class that have taken the plunge and operate a web site/blog to further their aspirations into reality. Please visit and join them as we all strive to be better wordsmiths and gain a wider audience).

Forward to 2015.

I did a few simple calculations to portion out my 2015 writing goals.

Write 500 words today=15,000 words a month=182,500 words a year!

I mostly write fantasy, and though a longer genre than others, the numbers prove that I can write 1 ½ novels a year (120,000 words per novel). 500 words is approximately 2 double-spaced pages. I can do that. You can, too, if you plan and make a determined effort to do so.

Even if you only write 250 words a day (1 page!), a novel will be completed each year. Think about that.

There may be days when you only write 150 words, but as you get into the habit of writing everyday, there will be more and more days when you will put together 500 or even a 1,000 words. I have proved it; do the same.

Add any thoughts and/or plans you have for 2015–I would love to hear them, and I am sure others would as well.

Now, from me and mine to you and yours, have a Wonderful Holiday Season–do not forget to give yourself the gift of writing everyday.

 


This Week’s Links:

Kerri Nicole Casey
Kymm Coveney
Lockard Young
African Writing
Winnipeg is better than chocolate
Soto Grande Writers
Steve Mauercek
Vicky Fish
Margaret Ullrich
Sherry Howard
Better Lies
Vivan Mac
Abha Iyengar

 

This week’s Quote:
“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”
Lao-tzu

Author: Rick "C" Langford

Writer, blogger, Business Owner, dreamer, and fantasy lover

2 thoughts on “Reflection and Goals”

  1. Good post. Similar thinking as have just done a post on my achievements in 2014. Nothing as grand as yours but I have made a start on my writing journey. I have also started to think about what I want to do in 2015. Got dreams to chase!! 🙂

  2. Welcome, blondeusk. I have always found goals central to accomplishment in all phases of my life. Though I may not reach the exact goal, the fact I have them written down prompts me when things become lackluster.

Leave a Reply

